Diversity-ish

image

There are so many times that I just don’t feel like doing ANYTHING. When I’m confronted with questions regarding why this or that isn’t done, my ‘go to’ answer is, “I got busy.” Thankfully, I’m rarely ever asked what it was that kept me so busy. I wouldn’t have a real answer. Most of the things I do to avoid responsibility involve my iPhone or iPad. Sometimes I get sucked into “The Void”, otherwise known as Facebook. Sometimes it’s one of the other social media sites, depending on my mood. But mostly it’s mindless entertainment, solitaire, jigsaw puzzles, this new game called 100! that I’m currently addicted to. Many hours are spent building a utopia on Minecraft (THE greatest game ever created). I justify this lack of busyness by saying, “Its not like I’m sitting around watching tv” or “I hate to get started with something that I won’t have time to finish”. As my 7th grade English teacher, Ms. Bowman used to say, “I’m hearing a lot of excuses, but no real reasons.” The reason is very simple. I was born this way. Even as a kid, I HATED housework. I only cleaned up anything when I was forced to and even then I would try my best to bribe/guilt my sisters into doing my work. We had chore lists as far back as I can remember. Some people grow up to be organized and tidy because their parents were organized and tidy. My mom was neither organized nor tidy.  Don’t get me wrong, our house was clean. At least as clean as it could be with 2 working parents, one of which was an alcoholic who spent as much time outside as possible.  Daddy’s idea of cleaning up was to shove everything into one pile and forget about it.  My momma’s cleaning style was totally unpredictable, you never knew if she was going to just “straighten up” or if she was planning an all day deep cleaning of every nook and cranny. On those days she would miraculously transform herself into a whirling dervish of cleanliness. So, you see, it’s in my genetic makeup to not like housework.  It’s only natural for me to hate to sweep, mop, and dust! But, there’s a silver lining. Now that our society so readily blames our DNA on everything from serial killers and pedophiles to transsexuals and drug addicts, I get a free pass on my house being messy.

It’s just who I am. I was born this way and I can’t help it. My suggestion for people who are intolerant of my lifestyle is this:

 You really need to learn to be more accepting of people who are different than you.

YAY for diversity!!

Leave a Reply

