My First Blog

 

The first post.

Such a huge responsibility.

I was always told, “You only get one time to make a first impression, so make it a good ‘un.”

I’ve often wondered what people think when they first meet me. Do they just see another fat old woman? I sure hope not.  I have always tried to be the kind of person that smiles at and speaks to people whether I know them or not. Being in situations where I didn’t know anyone that I was around and feeling like the “odd man out” has made me try  to always be welcoming. Basically, I  don’t like for anyone to feel uncomfortable around me.

I hope that people can tell that I’m a Christian. It has almost become a bad thing to admit that you know who Jesus is, much less to tell people that He is in your heart and that you try to live for Him as best as you can.

I hope that people can tell that I’m not a fake person, or the kind that puts on airs. I’m just me. No matter where I am, or who I am around, I am the same. I tell people that God sees me for exactly who and what I am, so why try to be something I’m not….. ok….. actually what I usually say is, “God sees me naked in the shower…” but, you get the point. 😏

I hope that people can tell that I’m a wife. The best thing that I ever did was to fall in love with my best friend. There’s something so awesomely simple about moving from best friend to lover. There are no  awkward ‘getting to know each other’ moments. The friend that was your confidant becomes your lover that you have no need to keep secrets from. The person who you had long heart to heart talks with  becomes the one to which you whisper your desires. The one friend that you knew would always ‘have your back’ becomes your fiercest protector. Taking the next step into married life was the only thing left to do and we did that as we’ve done everything in our lives…. Together.

I hope that people can tell that I’m a mom. My life’s greatest accomplishment has, without a doubt, got to be my kids. I love them more than I ever thought I could possibly love another human being. There is just something so wonderful, yet so terrifying about being a mom. When you first lay eyes on the wrinkled, red, tiny person that has been a part of you for so long, something happens. I can’t explain it. It’s almost as if you and this baby are the only people on the planet and you’re completely fine with that. The instinctual desire to comfort and protect your child is overwhelming. You will do anything, go anywhere, make any sacrifice, and fight an battle to ensure their safety and their happiness. I’ve had this awesome experience 3 times in my life. Each one just as special and as unique as the other. Each one loved equally.

 

There are some things that I hope people can’t tell about me. Like the fact that most days I don’t want to even get out of bed. Just knowing all that sits before me, and my disinterest in doing any of it, makes me want to run away. I would love to get as far away as I can from laundry, dirty dishes, sweeping, mopping, vacuuming, diapers, dog hair…. well,  basically any adult responsibilities. But, that’s not possible, and even if it was I would miss it all terribly and come running back home.

So, that’s what was on my mind today. I know, I know, it’s kind of a long introduction, but, I must warn you, I am not exactly known for making long stories short…. Ever.

Leave a Reply

